Highlights from the 55th NAACP Image Awards

Hosted by Queen Latifah and aired live on BET, the 55th NAACP Image Awards celebrated diversity, talent, and achievement in the entertainment industry.

1 min read
Highlights from the 55th NAACP Image Awards
Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ralph Tresvant, Johnny Gill, Bobby Brown and Ronnie DeVoe at the 55th NAACP Image Awards held at The Shrine Auditorium on March 16, 2024 in Los Angeles, California. Photo Credit : John Salangsang for Variety

The 55th NAACP Image Awards, held on Saturday, brought together a galaxy of stars and honored the exceptional accomplishments of people of color across various fields. From music to literature, television to film, the event recognized outstanding talent and contributions from diverse communities.

One of the highlights of the evening was Usher being named Entertainer of the Year. The renowned R&B singer expressed gratitude for his journey spanning three decades, acknowledging significant milestones such as his sold-out Las Vegas residency, marriage, and the release of his ninth studio album, “Coming Home.” In addition to his musical achievements, Usher was honored with the President’s Award for his philanthropic endeavors through his New Look Foundation.

“The Color Purple” won the Best Motion Picture, featuring a star-studded cast including Fantasia Barrino, Taraji P. Henson, and Colman Domingo. Barrino, who portrayed Celie in the film, clinched the award for Best Actress in a Motion Picture. Reflecting on her portrayal, Barrino expressed gratitude to the viewers, stating,

the awards that I will win will come from the people who watched ‘Color Purple’ and the women who will relate to her and feel like Oscars when they walk out.”

Taraji P. Henson and Fantasia Barrino at the 2024 NAACP Image Awards on March 16 in Los Angeles. Photo Credit: WWD

New Edition was inducted into the NAACP Image Awards Hall of Fame, recognizing their pioneering influence in the music industry. Group member Michael Bivins reflected on their journey, highlighting their resilience and unity despite past challenges.

Amanda Gorman, writer and activist, was honored with the Chairman’s Award during the live show. Some of the previous winners of the Chairman’s Award include Samuel L. Jackson, Ruby Dee, Danny Glover, Rev. James Lawson, Tyler Perry, Barack Obama, and Congresswoman Maxine Waters.

Other notable winners included Damson Idris for Best Actor in a Drama Television Series for his role in “Snowfall,” and Henson and Domingo for Best Supporting Roles in “The Color Purple.” Domingo also secured the title of Best Actor in a Motion Picture for his performance in “Rustin.”

Leave a Reply