Celebration of Black Cinema & Television Honorees 2022

Get to know more about us. We have a proud history.

3 mins read

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing nearly 600 media critics and entertainment journalists. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content.

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) held the 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television on December 5th at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles, CA. The event was hosted by actor, stand-up comedian, and hip-hop icon Bill Bellamy. The annual event has grown immensely since it began, having honored just one film, 20 Feet from Stardom, at the very first event. The Critics Choice Association continued to expand the Celebration to include additional honorees each year, adding Television categories to the slate last year. Now in its fifth year, the Celebration of Black Cinema & Television recognized 15 categories as part of a star-studded night honoring standout achievements in Black filmmaking and television.

“The Celebration of Black Cinema & Television has grown tremendously over the last five years,” said CCA CEO Joey Berlin. “We’re thrilled to be able to recognize such outstanding projects across both film and television, and to honor these incredible actors and filmmakers for their work.” 

Songwriter, producer, director, entrepreneur, and founder of Motown Berry Gordy received the Icon Award for his unparalleled contribution to music, film and popular culture.

Actress Angela Bassett received the Career Achievement Award for her extraordinary career and her recent role as Queen Ramonda in the Marvel Studios film, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.

Actor, producer and director Michael B. Jordan received the Melvin Van Peebles Trailblazer Award for his overall contribution to the industry and in celebration of his directorial debut with the United Artists Releasing film, Creed III. In addition to directing the film, he reprises his role as Adonis Creed, as well as produces under his Outlier Society production banner.

Grammy Award winning musician, multi-platinum recording artist and actor Scott ‘Kid Cudi’ Mescudi was honored with the Groundbreaker Award for his starring role as Jabari in the Netflix television event, Entergalactic, which he also created.

Emmy award-winning writer, producer, and actress, Quinta Brunson was presented with the Actress Award for Television for her role as Janine Teagues on ABC’s hit series, Abbott Elementary, which she created and also executive produces.

Actress and comedian Ayo Edebiri received the Rising Star Award presented by IMDbPro for her role as Sydney Adamu on the FX series, The Bear.

Emmy and Critics’ Choice Award nominated Jonathan Majors was presented with the Actor Award for Film for his role as Jesse Brown in Columbia Pictures and Black Label Media aerial war epic, Devotion.

The Director Award for Film was awarded to director Gina Prince-Bythewood for her work on TriStar Pictures and Entertainment One’s critically-acclaimed, The Woman King. The Woman King star Actor Thuso Mbedu presented her with the award.

Writer and director Elegance Bratton accepted the Social Justice Award for his inspiring work on the A24 film, The Inspection.

The Ensemble Award was presented to the cast of ABC’s sitcom, The Wonder Years, Elisha “EJ” Williams, Dulé Hill, Saycon Sengbloh, Laura Kariuki, Julian Lerner, Amari O’Neil, and Milan Ray.

Writer/Director Nikyatu Jusu accepted the Breakthrough Film Award for the Amazon Studios and Blumhouse film, Nanny.

Actor Brian Tyree Henry was awarded with the Supporting Actor Award for his performance as James Aucoin in Apple Original Films and A24’s, Causeway.

Actor Nicco Annan received the Actor Award for Television for his role as Uncle Clifford on the STARZ hit series, P-Valley.

Actress Danielle Deadwyler was honored with the Actress Award for Film for her role as Mamie Till-Mobley in the Orion Pictures and United Artists Releasing film, Till.

Actor Quincy Isaiah also accepted the Rising Star Award presented by IMDbPro for his role as Magic Johnson on the HBO Original series, Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, available to stream on HBO Max.

“It has truly been a year to celebrate,” said CCA Board Member Shawn Edwards, Executive Producer of the event. “The unprecedented amount of content about the Black experience on film and television made it very difficult to choose our honorees for this milestone year. And our special Icon Award honoree, Berry Gordy, pushed open a heavy door during the 70s and 80s through his Motown Productions with a string of movies and TV series that helped pave the way for future Black storytellers.”

The Critics Choice Association’s Celebration of Black Cinema & Television will be televised on KTLA in January and shown nationwide on Nexstar stations throughout the month of February in honor of Black History Month.

All image credit goes to Getty Images for Critics Choice Association.

Leave a Reply